Visegrad Literary Residency Program

About grant

The Visegrad Literary Residency Program, established 2012 by the International Visegrad Fund, consists of a series of residency stays and literary events addressed to writers of fiction and non-fiction, poets, essayists, critics, as well as literary translators, publicists and journalists from the Visegrad Countries (Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia).

It is based on the partnership of four host institutions from the V4 countries, respectively: Institut umění (Arts Institute) in Prague, Petőfi Irodalmi Múzeum (Petőfi Literary Museum) in Budapest, Stowarzyszenie Willa Decjusza (Villa Decius Association) in Krakow and Literárne informačné centrum (Literary Information Center) in Bratislava.

The Program provides opportunities to host writers from all V4 member states in each institution/country. It supports the work and mobility of its talented literary residents, creating a platform for information exchange and supporting development and promotion of V4 literature within Central Europe.

There are two editions of the program: the compact Spring Edition (May 1st – June 12th) and the regular Autumn Edition (September 1st – November 3th). Each edition enables 32 literary residents to work on their literary projects in the four host institutions.
Each of the host institutions is responsible for organizing two stays of two groups, each consisting of four literary residents (one resident from the Czech Republic, one from Hungary, one from Poland and one from Slovakia), who work on their individual literary projects and who also participate in literary event(s) organized by the host institution in the hosting city.
The recruitment process of the 32 grantees of the program is based on individual applications submitted via an online application form, opened annualy on the website of the International Visegrad Fund.

The residences are assigned to applicants in a 3-stage selection process performed by a national and international selection panel on the basis of proportional and equal involvement of Czech, Hungarian, Polish and Slovak residents and host institutions.

Articles 2021
AUTUMN edition
SPRING edition